King of the North : A Viking saga of battle and glory

$12.00 $13.00

A clash of crowns pits brother against sister in the battle for ultimate power

An ambitious king

Spring, AD 777. Sigurd Hring, new King of the Svear, is summoning all the greatest warriors of the North to his banner, promising them riches and glory. He invites Bjarki Bloodhand, the famous berserkr who can summon the fury of a wild bear in battle, to swear an oath of fealty to him. But Bjarki has already sailed away to rescue a beautiful Saxon princess.

A reluctant shield maiden

Tor Hildarsdottir, sister of Bjarki, now oath-bound to a powerful Svealand jarl, finds herself unwillingly enrolled in Sigurd's mighty army. When Sigurd Hring arrogantly rejects the overlordship of Siegfried, King of the Dane-Mark, red war is inevitable.

The battle to end all battles

The two sides agree to meet on the field of honour at Norrkoping on the Svealand border. But Bjarki has sworn an oath to Siegfried and joined his Danish host, while Tor must fight for her lord and homeland. So the siblings will face each other over the shield-rims in a battle to end all battles to decide who shall be... King of the North.

The epic fourth volume in the Fire Born saga, perfect for fans of Giles Kristian and Matthew Harffy.